Perfect Cube – well, almost

3rd April 2011

This is a installation of 3 clocks placed at vertices of an equilateral triangle. Unlike usual clocks here the hour, minute and second hand are of the same size.

Every twelve hours –  for exactly one second – the hands gets arranged in such a way that it resembles the line diagram of a cube – its isometric view.

Inspired by Florian Jenett‘s One Perfect Cube, I made this installation as a part of our composition course.

Initially i just made a non-motor version and in the second version i added the clock moments / motors. However the second hand in my perfect cube is smaller than the other 2 hands. So it isn’t technically a perfect cube but almost… (smile)

Florian Jenett's Original Perfect Cube

Florian Jenett's Original Perfect Cube

Perfect Cube

My initial version of Perfect Cube

Perfect Cube in Lab

Initial Version installed in Lab

My Final Perfect Cube

My Final Perfect Cube

My Final Perfect Cube

My Final Perfect Cube

Perfect Cube installed in my room

Perfect Cube installed in my room

Perfect Cube installed in my room

Perfect Cube installed in my room

 

Fawaz

About syedfawaz2002

I am Syed Fawaz Ahmed. I am currently pursuing post graduation in New Media Design at National Institute of Design, Gandhinagar, Gujarat. Engineer by profession, Artist at heart. I have done my Engineering in Information Science in M.S.Ramaiah Institute of Technology You can reach me at syedfawaz2002@gmail.com
This entry was posted in design. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

