Love Chart – Things I love doing

10th April 2011

During our ethnography course,  We were asked to write our autobiography and code it. This helps us in understanding our own frame – the way we see the world is hugely influenced by the experiences we have lived by.

Our childhood, memories, parents, friends, location, religeon etc. all add to the way we think about the world. We perceive the world through our senses, but the perception differs hugely among people “sensing” the same thing. We certainly cannot be neutral, every thing that happens around us is personal to us. We cannot let go off our biases.

The task of writing our autobiography and coding it was not to get over our biases but just to be aware of it. So during ethnographic studies, when you are in field, engaging with your group you should be aware of your own frame and try to minimize its effect on the study being done.

During writing my autobiography+when the ethnography course was being done, I read a book called NAOTO FUKASAWA. Naoto is a Japanese Industrial designer. In this book he writes about how small things meant a lot to him – like feeling the cuts of peeled potatoes with his hands when his mother used to peel them. He liked this tactile feeling so much that he wrote up in his small diary about it – this happened when he was a child (What kind of a child he was? Who writes up things like these in childhood?).
Later when he was asked to design a mobile, he made a conscious decision not to make his mobile with smooth round edges – which was a rage at the time he designed the mobile. He decided that he ll make the mobile edgy – just like the peeled potatoes. He believed that people would love putting their hand inside their pockets just to feel the edges of the mobile. He came up with the design shown below.

Naoto Fukasawa- Mobile inspired by the edgy peeled potatoes

Naoto Fukasawa- Mobile inspired by the edgy peeled potatoes

When the mobile was launched, he was asked whether the design was inspired  by Ferrari – as it was red in color. He said “No ! its just peeled potatoes”.

I found this extremely interesting and inspiring.

So I thought I ll start writing things / experiences that make me feel happy. If I feel happy about them, there must be someone else too who feels happy experiencing the same thing. So If i design a product based on these feelings. The product I design might evoke the “nostalgic” experience that matters to us.

So as a part of this initiative, I made my LOVE CHART. It just has random things that I love doing.

Well, I know it sounds cheeky – with dil shape and maroon color. But the reason was – it is handmade paper – with a amazing texture on it. The choice of writing with white pen was to give it a “engraved-on-heart” look. I believe it has strong affordance as it attracts me to write on it.

My Love Chart - things I love to do

My Love Chart - things I love to do

Does it make sense to anyone else?
Will it be fruitful?
Can I extract any patterns out of it?

I dont know.

If  I do come to know anything, it will be worth thinking about.

Fawaz

About syedfawaz2002

I am Syed Fawaz Ahmed. I am currently pursuing post graduation in New Media Design at National Institute of Design, Gandhinagar, Gujarat. Engineer by profession, Artist at heart. I have done my Engineering in Information Science in M.S.Ramaiah Institute of Technology You can reach me at syedfawaz2002@gmail.com
This entry was posted in design. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

